Eurasian Economic Community

March 9, 2010

The Eurasian Economic Community (EURASEC) was established by Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, having grown out of the CIS Customs Union. Ukraine and Moldova have observer status in the community, however Ukraine has declared its desire not to become a full member state. Because having common borders with the rest of the community is a prerequisite for full membership, Moldova is thus barred from seeking it. Uzbekistan applied for membership in October 2005, when the process of merging CACO and the Eurasian Economic Community began; it joined on 25 January 2006.

EURASEC is being transformed as of 2010, along withe new Customs Union as a WTO entry vehicle for the Russian Federation, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and with the possible help of the new Ukrainian Government (the Ukraine – which became a WTO member state in 2008). These other former Soviet Republics have never been accepted with the exception of the Ukraine, which leaned heavily West until 2010


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s